What the hell…?

I’m at work. I keep checking the clock to see how much longer I have to be here. Not really noticing the time but understanding that the time of release and my rampant scurry to flee the building will not be happening for a while.

Behind me I hear the familiar pattern of coworkers walking the halls between our cubes. I think nothing of it. It’s just a normal day. Until suddenly there were hands on my shoulders and my name is being screamed. The instant shock that propelled me upwards also prevented me from noticing as my leg gets caught between the seat and the armrest of my chair, as it often does since I like to contort myself into my uncomfy chair so that I can imagine that it is more comfy than it actually is. Within the momentum of the chair and me trying to get up extremely quickly it promptly shoves me back down and my face was compelled to become close friends with my desk.

Hospital rooms are always freezing. You would think they would keep it warmer since so many people that come to them are actually sick. The doctor pulls the curtain around and I see my friend Kim standing there behind him, her hands to her face in a state of shock and tears down her face. She hadn’t expected to startle me so bad that I would bust my nose. The doctor flips through his chart and looks at me. He’s heard the story, had his laugh for the day, and then gave me something for the booming headache that was probably a little more than I could handle while still trying to remember how to pronounce my name.

The Doctor smirks and asks me how I’m feeling.

“Me? I feel pretty.” My face obviously black and blue by now.
“You feel pretty?”
I nod “I feel pretty.”
He shifts his face to the side slightly his smirk growing into a smile. “And witty?”
My eye twitches “But not Gay.”

I wake up in my dark room blinking through the sleep that has blurred my vision. My digital clock across the room blinks green number at me that read 3:33am. I breathe in deeply my hand searching my face. Nothing is there, no busted nose, no tape. It was a dream.

“…What the hell…”

12 Comments

Filed under Kindnapped by Imagination, Self Ramblings

12 responses to “What the hell…?

  1. You minx, you had me hornswoggled! (Been dying to use those two words in the same sentence.) Isn’t it wonderful that real life is usually so much less disturbing than one’s dreams?

  2. Awesome. I love it. I like when I have dreams so vivid that I have to check to see if they happened or not. As always, love your writing style.

  3. I feel pretty
    Oh so pretty
    I feel pretty and witty and gay
    And I pity
    Any girl who isn’t me today
    I feel charming
    Oh so charming
    It’s alarming how charming I feel
    And so pretty

    http://www.metrolyrics.com/i-feel-pretty-lyrics-westside-story.html

    I couldn’t help myself. When I saw, I feel pretty, that song just popped into my head. I thinkg this counts for a WTH moment!

  4. You had me too. I can remember one time long ago when my children were very young, bolting out of bed and getting my car keys because I dreamt my wife had driven her car off the road and I needed to get some blankets to her because it was winter. I would have driven right out of the driveway if I hadn’t noticed her car sitting there. After creeping back up into the bedroom I discovered that she had crawled into bed with one of our children that was having a nightmare. To this day it was one of the most vivid dreams I’ve ever had.

  5. pure comedy… looool 😛 and the details of the dream sequence… sounded all too real… 😛

Leave a Reply

